The Union Recorder

February 6, 2013

SIGNING DAY: Six GMC stars sign to play at next level

Steven Cary
The Union-Recorder

MILLEDGEVILLE — Following a season in which the Georgia Military College Bulldogs went 7-4 and earned a trip to the C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl, six of the team’s top players made commitments Wednesday at a signing ceremony in the Sibley Cone Library to continue their football careers.

While Neville Hewitt, Mario Alford, Tre Carter, Kevin Gary, Devon Johnson and Nate Holton will all be missed by the Bulldogs next fall, Bert Williams, head coach, is proud to send these six players off to take advantage of new opportunities.

“It’s always exciting on signing day, to watch these guys sign their scholarship agreements and make their decisions on where they’re going to go on and continue school,” Williams said. “I’m always real proud of them.”

As one of the top defensive players for GMC in the fall, Hewitt looks forward to furthering his education and playing career at Marshall University.

After changing his decision due to staff changes at The University of Arizona, Alford will also be heading north, as he hopes to make an impact for the Mountaineers of West Virginia University.

Though two GMC players will be head to the state of West Virginia to play ball, another pair plan to attend Louisiana Tech University.

The former offensive lineman Carter started as both a freshman and sophomore at GMC and hopes to make a similar impact for the Bulldogs of Louisiana Tech.

Gary, a standout wide receiver, will join Carter next fall at Louisiana Tech.

Staying closer to home, Johnson will head to UNC-Charlotte to help jumpstart a new football program at the Division-I level.

The last of the six signees was Holton, who will play at Reinhardt University in Welaska, Ga.

Other GMC signees who made midyear commitments include: Jermarquis Perry (DL, Reinhardt College), Clay Chastain (QB, Georgia State University), Caleb Clayton-Molby (LB, University of North Carolina at Charlotte), Kristopher Hurley (TE, Presbyterian College), Trenton Brown (OL, University of Florida), Octavious Brown (DL, Youngstown State University), Ronnie Martin (DB, University of South Carolina), Tiquention Coleman (DB, University of Arkansas) and Terome Grant (WR, Louisiana Tech University).