The Union Recorder

June 29, 2013

Local shooting team wins for state titles

The Union-Recorder

MILLEDGEVILLE — The Brookline Top Shots is a Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) team based in Milledgeville. This is the team’s first year of existence.

SCTP is the largest youth shooting organization. The shooters compete in divisions based on their grade and experience level. All shooters compete for individual awards as well as squads of three shooters compete for squad awards.

The Georgia State SCTP Skeet and Sporting Clay Shoot was held in Savannah on June 15 with 190 shooters participating. The Brookline Top Shots took 16 shooters to compete.

Brookline came home with six squad awards and six individual awards, including four state championships.

In the Intermediate Entry Division, the squad of Aaron Copelan, Taylor Hyatt and Davis Jones took the state championship in both skeet and sporting clays. Hyatt bested teammate Copelan in a shoot-off to take the individual skeet championship with Copelan finishing in second place. Both shot 86 targets out of 100 in skeet. Colton Brewer took second place in the sporting clays competition with an 83. The squad of Brewer, Jacob Smith and Blake Jackson finished third in sporting clays after winning a shoot off with another team.

In the Junior Varsity Division, the squad of Jasper Copelan, Morgan Goette and Hunter Henry took third in both skeet and sporting clays with Copelan taking third in both disciplines in the individual awards as well. Copelan shot an 86 of 100 in sporting clays and 96 out of 100 in skeet.

In the Varsity Division, the squad of Dakota Banford, Jonathan Saul and Luke Johnson took second place in sporting clays. Wil Goette shot 99 of 100 skeet targets to tie with two other shooters for top honors in skeet. Goette won the shoot-off, which gave him first place in the Varsity Division as well as HOA which is first place for all divisions.

The team is now working hard in order to get ready for Nationals. The Top Shots will take 15 shooters to the SCTP National Championship held in Sparta, Ill in July.