The Union Recorder

August 26, 2013

Candidates qualify for municipal office

Vaishali Patel
The Union-Recorder


Six candidates qualified for municipal office Monday by presstime as qualifying for the Tuesday, Nov. 5 elections kicked off.

Incumbent Randall A. “Randy” New qualified for the Georgia Military College Board of Trustees District 2 seat as did Calvin Hill for District 6 on the GMC board.

Andrew Ross Sheppard qualified for the District 2 seat on the Milledgeville City Council, presently held by Jeanette Walden. Walden also qualified for another term.

Incumbent Dr. Collinda Lee of District 1 on city Council qualified, as well as Phillip Smith for the District 3 Council seat.

Candidates interested in qualifying for local offices within the city of Milledgeville can do so in the finance department at City Hall from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day this week. The qualifying period ends at 4:30 p.m. Friday.

The qualifying fee for each of the six seats on City Council is $180 and $252 for mayor. There is no fee to qualify for the Georgia Military College Board of Trustees.

Eligible voters then have two weeks after the deadline for qualifying to file with the Rushin any written complaints about the qualifications of the individual running for office.

Candidates must bring a valid I.D. for notary purpose and the qualifying fee. A completed declaration of candidacy is suggested if a candidate is running as a political party candidate or the notice of candidacy if a candidate is qualifying for a nonpartisan office.

State law requires candidates for municipal office to be a registered voter, at least 21 years of age, and have lived in the city for at least 12 months.

Currently the District 1 Council seat is held by Dr. Collinda Lee; Jeanette Walden, District 2; Denese Shinholster, District 3; Phillip Joiner, District 4; Richard Mullins, District 5; and Steve Chambers, District 6. Councilman Phillip Joiner announced last month that he will not seek a second term.

For more information on qualifying, call Municipal Elections Superintendent Patti Rushin 478-414-4006, email, or visit the Secretary of State’s website at

Click here to subscribe to The Union-Recorder print edition.
Click here to subscribe to The Union-Recorder e-edition and view this full article.